Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Join as a sustainer and support independent local news for your community.

NHPR Wins Four Regional Murrow Awards

Sara Plourde for NHPR

The 2014 Regional Edward R. Murrow awards winners have been announced, with NHPR capturing four in our region.

For Feature Reporting, Word of Mouth Producer Zach Nugent won for his story The Search For The Next Big Dog Star, which followed regular dogs as they auditioned for the role of Sandy in Prescott Park's production of Annie. 

NHPR's Health Reporter Todd Bookman was the winner of two Murrows. In the Hard News category, he won for covering a controversial drug prescribing practice called 'Fail First.' In the Sports category, Todd's look at Bass Fishing's emergence as a high school sport won the top prize. 

NHPR also won for best website, with a submission that included interactive features, news explainers, video, and web-first reporting. 

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Click here for a full list of Regional Edward R Murrow Award winners. 

You make NHPR possible.

NHPR is nonprofit and independent. We rely on readers like you to support the local, national, and international coverage on this website. Your support makes this news available to everyone.

Give today. A monthly donation of $5 makes a real difference.