Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Donate today to give back in celebration of all that #PublicMediaGives. Your contribution will be matched $1 for $1.

Council OKs New Banking Commissioner

Allegra Boverman for NHPR


Democratic Gov. Maggie Hassan is at odds with the two executive councilors from her own party over her nominee to lead the state's banking department.

The Executive Council voted 3-2 to confirm Jerry Little, a Republican state senator, to serve as the next commissioner. Democratic councilors Colin Van Ostern and Chris Pappas voted against his nomination Wednesday, citing his previous work heading the New Hampshire Bankers Association, which includes the industry's lobbying arm.

Van Ostern and Pappas say they have concerns about Little's ability to regulate the industry, given his past ties. Van Ostern, who's running for governor, says he questions whether Little has a passion for consumer protection.

Republican councilors David Wheeler, Joe Kenney and Chris Sununu, another gubernatorial candidate, back the nomination.

Little will start in early June.

Related Content

You make NHPR possible.

NHPR is nonprofit and independent. We rely on readers like you to support the local, national, and international coverage on this website. Your support makes this news available to everyone.

Give today. A monthly donation of $5 makes a real difference.