State Police: Starting July 1 Hands-Free Law Will Be Strictly Enforced
New Hampshire’s Hands Free Law goes into effect in under five days, which will ban drivers from using hand-held electronic devices even at traffic lights or stop signs.
"No text, no mail, no call is worth a life. Put the phone down, it can wait," she Marilyn Bachman who lost her husband to distracted driving.
That means no cell phones, GPS, tablets, iPods, etc. unless they are operated by a Bluetooth or other hand free device.
At a press conference Thursday morning, State Police said starting July 1 all officers statewide will be strictly enforcing the law. Those found to abuse the law will be fined $100 for a first offense, $250 for a second offense and $500 after that.
State Police Colonel Robert Quinn says in the last four years distracted driving was the cause of 124 crashes as well as a quarter of all fatal accidents. “Distracted driving rivals impaired driving as a top public safety risk on our roadways and it is killing people,” he told reporters.
Amherst resident Marilyn Bachman’ husband John died two years ago when he went to get the mail and was hit and killed by a driver on his cell phone. “No text, no mail, no call is worth a life. Put the phone down, it can wait,” she said tearing up.
Fourteen other states including Connecticut and Vermont ban hand held devises while driving.