Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Become a sustaining member today for your chance to win two season ski passes to the NH ski resort of your choice.

Veteran Lawmakers To Lead Key House Committees

Allegra Boverman for NHPR

A number of familiar faces will lead key New Hampshire House committees.

On Thursday, House Speaker Shawn Jasper announced his picks to head the House's 22 standing committees.
The key budget-related committees of Finance and Ways and Means will both be led  by lawmakers who have previously held those posts.
Neal Kurk will again run House Finance and Norm Major will oversee Ways and Means.
Jasper also named John Hunt as Commerce chair and John Tholl to lead the Criminal Justice committee.
Jasper previously announced Gene Chandler as Deputy Speaker and Jack Flanagan as his Majority Leader.  Today's announcements come a week after Jasper's contentious battle for House Speaker with former speaker Bill O'Brien.
In a statement, Jasper says the committee chairs represent "a diverse and talented cross section of our party."  Republican lawmakers will begin working on their biennial agenda when they caucus next Wednesday.


Here's a list of other committee leaders:

Children and Family Law:

Carolyn Gargasz (r-Hollis), Chair

Debra I. DeSimone (r-Atkinson) Vice Chair

Commerce and Consumer Affairs

John B. Hunt (r-Rindge) Chair

Laura Jones (r-Rochester) Vice Chair

Criminal Justice and Public Safety

John E. Tholl, Jr. (r-Whitefield) Chair

David A. Welch  (r-Kingston)  Vice Chair


Rick Ladd (r-Haverhill) Chair

John Balcom (r-Merrimack) Vice Chair

Election Law

Kathleen M. Hoelzel (r-Raymond) Chair

James P. Gray (r-Rochester) Vice Chair

Environment & Agriculture

Robert Haefner (r-Hudson) Chair

John T. O’Connor (r-Derry) Vice Chair

Executive Departments & Administration

Andrew Christie (r-Hampton Falls) Chair

John Sytek (r-Salem) Vice Chair

Fish and Game and Marine Resources

David Kidder (r-New London) Chair

Jim Webb (r-Derry) Vice Chair

Health, Human Services and Elderly Affairs

Frank R. Kotowski (r-Hooksett) Chair

Donald LeBrun (r-Nashua) Vice Chair


Robert Rowe (r-Amherst) Chair

Joe Hagan (r-Chester) Vice Chair

Labor, Industrial and Rehabilitative Services

William Infantine (r-Manchester) Chair

Tammy Simmons (r-Manchester) Vice Chair

Legislative Administration

Richard Hinch (r-Merrimack) Chair

Jack Flanagan (r-Brookline) Vice Chair

Municipal and County Government

James Belanger (r-Hollis) Chair

Frank Sterling (r-Jaffrey) Vice Chair

Public Works and Highways

Gene G. Chandler (r-Bartlett) Chair

Mark McConkey (r-Freedom) Vice Chair

Resources, Recreation and Development

Chris Christensen (r-Merrimack) Chair

Beverly A. Ferrante (r-Derry) Vice Chair


Shawn Jasper (r-Hudson) Chair

Gene G. Chandler (r-Bartlett) Vice Chair

Science, Technology and Energy

Robert Introne (r-Londonderry) Chair

Herb Richardson (r-Lancaster) Vice Chair

State-Federal Relations and Veterans Affairs

Russell T. Ober (r-Hudson) Chair

Phillip Straight (r-Merrimack) Vice Chair


Steven D. Smith (r-Charleston) Chair

Thomas Walsh (r-Manchester) Vice Chair