WebHeader_Grove.jpg
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Support NHPR with your tax-deductible year-end gift today!
NH News
Measuring around 18 miles long, New Hampshire has the smallest shoreline of all coastal states. But for about 400 years, it’s been enough to support small boat fishermen in the Seacoast region. They make their livings cruising New England’s waters for cod, lobster, shrimp and other stocks.For decades, the industry’s been challenged by declining populations of fish and shellfish, as well as changing federal regulations. As of 2010, New England fishermen are allowed to catch a set poundage of fish based on their take over a 10-year span. New Hampshire fishermen argue this change has made the cost of working outpace profits, forced many small boats out of business, and discouraged new people from entering the industry. No matter the cause, figures from the US Census Bureau clearly show an industry in decline. In Portsmouth, the Seacoast’s main city, the Census Bureau reports only 0.2 percent of residents work in the “Farming, fishing and forestry occupations” category. That’s compared to 0.6 percent in 2000. A number of New Hampshire fishermen, politicians, and historians believe that without change, the state’s small boat fishing industry is heading toward extinction.Summary provided by StateImpact NH

N.H. Fish and Game Sells Lifetime Licenses to Newborns

fish_and_game_newborn_0.jpg
via New Hampshire Fish and Game website
/

New Hampshire Fish and Game is now selling combined lifetime hunting and fishing licenses for newborns.

The licenses can be used once the child is sixteen years old.

Maine and Vermont already offer similar deals. New Hampshire Fish and Game reports it has been getting calls over the past few years asking for them in the Granite State.

The licenses would bring in revenue to the department, but Fish and Game’s Evan Mulholland says it’s also about passing on the state’s hunting and fishing tradition to the next generation.

“When this child hits sixteen,” Mulholland says. “He’s going to want to go hunting and fishing, hopefully. And he’s going to invite his friends and relatives and they’re going to also end up buying hunting and fishing licenses and carrying on the tradition.”

Fish and Game started selling the licenses July 1, after Governor Hassan signed SB 183 into law in May.

The licenses are for sale at Fish and Game’s Concord headquarters or by mail. The child must be under one year of age and be a resident of New Hampshire to qualify. The total cost of the license is just over $300. 

Related Content