Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Donate your vehicle to NHPR and support local journalism.

How North Country Reps Voted On Gas Tax

North Country representatives were almost evenly split along party lines on whether to increase the gas tax for the first time in more than two decades.

As NHPR’s Josh Rogers reports on Wednesday Senate Bill 367 passed on a vote of 193-141. That means the state’s tax on gas and diesel will increase 4.2 cents, the first increase to the current 18-cents per gallon since 1991.

The Senate voted on the bill in March. It passed 15 – 9 with those in favor including Sen. Jeff Woodburn, a Democrat, who represents the North Country.

In a statement Governor Maggie Hassan said she looked forward to signing the bill.

Here are North Country reps who voted for the increase:

Rebecca Brown, Sugar Hill, Democrat

Gary Coulombe, Berlin Democrat

Susan Ford, Easton, Democrat

Marcia Hammon, Whitefield, Democrat

William Hatch, Gorham, Democrat

Linda Massimilla, Littleton, Democrat

Wayne Moynihan, Dummer, Democrat

Robert Theberge, Berlin, Democrat

Here are North Country reps who voted against it:

Brad Bailey, Monroe, Republican

Ralph Doolan, Littleton, Republican

Edmond Gionet, Lincoln, Republican

Larry Rappaport , Colebrook, Republican

Herb Richardson, Lancaster, Republican

Leon Rideout, Lancaster, Republican

Yvonne Thomas, Berlin, Democrat

One North Country rep was excused from voting: Larry Enman, Errol,  Democrat

To see other votes go here.

You make NHPR possible.

NHPR is nonprofit and independent. We rely on readers like you to support the local, national, and international coverage on this website. Your support makes this news available to everyone.

Give today. A monthly donation of $5 makes a real difference.