Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Donate today to support the journalism you rely on!

Tina Turner, Jay-Z, Foo Fighters Among Those Inducted Into Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

Tina Turner performing in Berlin in 2009. This is her second induction in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. She was previously named for her work with Ike Turner in 1991.
DDP/AFP via Getty Images
Tina Turner performing in Berlin in 2009. This is her second induction in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. She was previously named for her work with Ike Turner in 1991.

Tina Turner doesn't need anybody's validation to hold her place in rock and roll history, but she's now been inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. She joins 12 others in what the organization calls the most diverse list of inductees in the its 36-year history.

Joining Turner among the performers in the main class of 2021 inductees are Todd Rundgren, Carole King, Jay-Z, The Go-Go's and Foo Fighters. The full list of inductees, which includes those named in categories like "Early Influence" and "Musical Excellence," is below.

The inclusion of Turner, King and The Go-Go's makes it the first time three female artists have been inducted in the Performers category in a single class.

The Go-Go's, Foo Fighters and Jay-Z are all first-time nominees (an act is eligible for induction 25 years after the release of its first commercial recording). Foo Fighters and Jay-Z were nominated in their first year of eligibility. The Go-Go's have been eligible since 2006.

Foo Fighters lead singer Dave Grohl was inducted in 2014 with his previous band Nirvana, and King was inducted for her songwriting in 1990 along with Gerry Goffin. Tina Turner was also previously inducted in 1991 for her work with Ike Turner.

A total of 16 artists were nominated for the 2021 class. Those who will not be inducted this year are Iron Maiden, Chaka Khan, Rage Against the Machine, Mary J. Blige, Kate Bush, Devo, Fela Kuti, New York Dolls and Dionne Warwick.

In a statement, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation John Sykes said, "This diverse class of talented inductees reflects the Hall's ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture."

The induction ceremony is set to take place on Oct. 30, and will be broadcast on HBO.

Complete List Of 2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

Performers Category:

  • Foo Fighters
  • Jay-Z
  • The Go-Go's
  • Carole King
  • Todd Rundgren
  • Tina Turner
  • Ahmet Ertegun Award (given to non-performing music industry professionals)

  • Clarence Avant
  • Musical Excellence Award

  • LL Cool J
  • Billy Preston
  • Randy Rhoads
  • Early Influence Award

  • Kraftwerk
  • Gil Scott-Heron
  • Charley Patton
  • Copyright 2022 NPR. To see more, visit

    Andrew Limbong is a reporter for NPR's Arts Desk, where he does pieces on anything remotely related to arts or culture, from streamers looking for mental health on Twitch to Britney Spears' fight over her conservatorship. He's also covered the near collapse of the live music industry during the coronavirus pandemic. He's the host of NPR's Book of the Day podcast and a frequent host on Life Kit.
    Related Content

    You make NHPR possible.

    NHPR is nonprofit and independent. We rely on readers like you to support the local, national, and international coverage on this website. Your support makes this news available to everyone.

    Give today. A monthly donation of $5 makes a real difference.