© 2024 New Hampshire Public Radio

Persons with disabilities who need assistance accessing NHPR's FCC public files, please contact us at publicfile@nhpr.org.
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Purchase your tickets today and be entered to win ALL prizes including $35k toward a new car or $25k in cash during NHPR's Summer Raffle!

Ta-Nehisi Coates, Hanya Yanagihara And Pam Muñoz Ryan Win Kirkus Prizes

Ta-Nehisi Coates, Hanya Yanagihara and Pam Muñoz Ryan are the 2015 Kirkus Prize winners.
Ta-Nehisi Coates, Hanya Yanagihara and Pam Muñoz Ryan are the 2015 Kirkus Prize winners.

At a ceremony Thursday in Austin, Texas, three writers took home Kirkus Prizes: Ta-Nehisi Coates, Hanya Yanagihara and Pam Muñoz Ryan. The literary award, now in its second year, awards $50,000 to the winner in each category — nonfiction, fiction and young readers' literature.

Coates' Between the World and Me earned the honors in nonfiction. In a statement, the judges praised it as "a formidable literary achievement and a crucial, urgent, and nuanced contribution to a long-overdue national conversation."

They added: "Not only does it ask the right questions at the right time, its refusal to appease readers by offering simplistic answers underscores the writer's uncommon journalistic and literary courage."

The book, written as a letter to his son, also focuses a lens on a vaster subject: what it means to be black in America. In an interview with Morning Edition, Coates told NPR's Michele Norris those topics aren't all that distant.

"I love America the way I love my family — I was born into it," Coates said. "But no definition of family that I've ever encountered or dealt with involves never having cross words with people, never having debate , never speaking directly."

Hanya Yanagihara's A Little Life continued its sterling run this literary awards season, winning the Kirkus for fiction. Already a finalist for the Man Booker Prize and for the National Book Award — which will be decided next month — Yanagihara's novel is "disturbing yet humane, capacious yet intimate, and never less than brilliant," according to the judges.

A record of the intertwined lives of four friends, the book is "long, page-turny, deeply moving, sometimes excessive, but always packed with the weight of a genuine experience," writes NPR's John Powers. And, like the prize she's winning, the novel marks a sophomore effort; it was released just a year and a half after Yanagihara's debut.

Pam Muñoz Ryan's Echo, a novel aimed at middle-grade readers, garnered the prize in young readers' literature. The book, a quest tale centered on a mysterious harmonica, is nothing less than "a masterwork by a virtuoso storyteller," the judges said.

To be considered eligible for the prize, writers had to receive a starred review from the literary journal Kirkus Reviews. The winners were selected from a pool of 1,032 eligible books.

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit https://www.npr.org.

Colin Dwyer covers breaking news for NPR. He reports on a wide array of subjects — from politics in Latin America and the Middle East, to the latest developments in sports and scientific research.

You make NHPR possible.

NHPR is nonprofit and independent. We rely on readers like you to support the local, national, and international coverage on this website. Your support makes this news available to everyone.

Give today. A monthly donation of $5 makes a real difference.