New Hampshire Poet Laureate | New Hampshire Public Radio

New Hampshire Poet Laureate

Deborah Schilbach

Gov. Chris Sununu nominated a poet from Londonderry to be the next state Poet Laureate at today's Excecutive Council meeting.

Alexandria Peary has written several books, published in dozens of journals, and holds an MFA from the prestigious Iowa Writer's Workshop. She's also a professor at Salem State University. In a statement, Peary says she's committed to helping others "advance their writing."

Dan Tuohy / NHPR


There are poetry slams, and then there are slammed poets.

New Hampshire Gov. Chris Sununu abandoned his pick for poet laureate on Friday amid growing criticism of the man's work and how he was selected.

Peter Biello / NHPR

Selecting the next Poet Laureate of New Hampshire usually comes with little controversy. But that is not the case this year. The selection committee, which traditionally recommends the next poet laureate, recently nominated poet Jennifer Militello. For the first time, the governor has disregarded the committee's suggestion, and nominated another poet, Daniel Thomas Moran.

Peter Biello/NHPR


New Hampshire officials are accepting nominations for the state's next poet laureate.

Alice Fogel, currently serving as New Hampshire's poet laureate, will complete her term next year after serving five years as an ambassador for poets across the state.

Former New Hampshire poets laureate include Walter Butts, Patricia Fargnoli, Donald Hall and Marie Harris.