How North Country Reps Voted On Repeal of Education Tax Credit

Feb 21, 2013

Ten North Country representatives – all Democrats - were among those who voted Wednesday to repeal the education tax credit.

Six North Country representatives – all Republicans – voted against the repeal.

As NHPR’s Sam Evans-Brown reported the law grants an 85% tax credit to businesses that donate to scholarship organizations, which give the money to students going to a private school, an out-of-district public school, or home school.

The bill – House Bill 370 - passed in the House 188 to 151.

Here’s how North Country representatives voted.

Those voting in favor of the repeal are:

Larry Enman, Democrat, Errol

Wayne Moynihan, Democrat, Dummer

Marcia Hammon, Democrat,  Whitefield

Gary Coulombe, Democrat, Berlin

Robert Theberge, Democrat, Berlin

William Hatch, Democrat, Gorham

Linda Massimilla, Democrat, Littleton

Rebecca Brown, Democrat, Sugar Hill

Susan Ford, Democrat, Easton

Linda Lauer, Democrat, Bath

Those voting against the repeal are:

Larry Rappaport, Republican, Colebrook

Leon Rideout, Republican, Lancaster

Herb Richardson, Republican, Lancaster

Edmond Gionet, Republican, Lincoln

Ralph Doolan, Republican, Littleton

Brad Bailey, Republican, Monroe

Those excused from voting are:

Yvonne Thomas, Democrat, Berlin

The bill must now go to the Republican-controlled Senate.

To see votes on other issues go here.