Raising Speed Limit On I-93: How North Country Reps Voted

Mar 18, 2013

North Country representatives were split on a bill that would raise the speed limit on parts of I-93 to 70 miles per hour.

As NHPR reported the bill - HB 146 - passed the House 292-65. It would allow 70 mph from Exit 18 north with the exception of a two-lane stretch through the Franconia Notch.

Nine North Country reps voted for the increase and seven against. One was excused from voting.  Party affiliation didn’t seem to matter.

North Country representatives voting in favor of the increase were:

* Gary Coulombe, Democrat, of Berlin

* Susan Ford, Democrat of Easton

* Edmond Gionet, Republican, of Lincoln.

* Linda Lauer, Democrat, of Bath

* Wayne Moynihan, Democrat of Dummer

* Larry Rappaport, Republican of Colebrook

* Leon Rideout, Republican, Lancaster.

* Herb Richardson, Republican, of Lancaster

* Robert Theberge, Democrat, of Berlin

North Country representatives voting against the increase were:

* Brad Bailey, Republican, of Monroe

* Ralph Doolan, Republican of Littleton

* Larry Enman, Democrat of Errol

*Marcia Hammon, Democrat, Whitefield

* Linda Massimilla, Democrat of Littleton

* Yvonne Thomas (Democrat) of Berlin

* Rebecca Brown, Democrat of Sugar Hill

Excused from voting:

* William Hatch (Democrat) of Gorham

To see how legislators voted on other bills go here.